About Us

Majlis Perbandaran Kulai, Kulai

Kulai Municipal Council (Malay: Majlis Perbandaran Kulai (MPKu)) is the local authority in Kulai District of Johor, Malaysia. It was earlier known as the Kulai District Council (Majlis Daerah Kulai (MDK)). The council has been established since 18 September 2004.

Year 1950 – Majlis Tempatan Kulai (Ditubuhkan pada tahun 1950) 1 January 1976 – Majlis Daerah Kulai (Nama ditukar kepada Majlis Daerah Kulai) 21 April 2004 – Majlis Perbandaran Kulai (Dinaik taraf kepada Majlis Perbandaran Kulai)

Kulai town was upgraded to a district on 1 January 2008 and has been renamed as Kulaijaya District. On 28 August 2015, Johor Sultan decreed for the name of the Kulaijaya district to be reverted back to its original name of Kulai.

Kulai District is one of the ten district in the state of Johor in peninsular Malaysia, the other nine districts were Batu Pahat, Johor Bahru, Kluang, Kota Tinggi, Mersing, Muar, Pontian, Segamat and Tangkak.

Kulai District covers Bukit Batu, Ayer Bemban, Sedenak, Kelapa Sawit, Sengkang, Kulai Town, Saleng, Senai and Seelong. Kulai has the biggest Chinese population in Johor, it is around 69%.

Kulai is also within the Iskandar Economic Zone (Iskandar Malaysia) where covers an area of 2217 square kilometers. It have a very good development advantages, especially in the transportation, information technology, high-tech industry, education, business, property and other industries.

The city is 29 km from the city of Johor Bahru, 8 km from Skudai. Kulai is a major scale in the Johor Bahru-Kuala Lumpur highway in the 1970s and 1980s until the North-South Freeway opened in 1994, that outside the city. It also has a small railway station operated by the Malayan Railway in Kulai Town, Senai and Sedenak.

The city is accessible by road via the North-South Highway and the old road, rail operated by Malayan Railway (KTM) and by air via the Senai International Airport. Senai International Airport is also located in Senai, a strategic location within Kulai District.